Beehive Blocks 2016

Today I’m posting a roundup of the blocks I made for my beehive last year. The post got quite long and picture-heavy, so this is January to June. The Beehive is hosted by Blossom Heart Quilts and runs for a calendar year at a time. The hives have a list of 12″ blocks that make fun repeating patterns to choose from, found here. All the patterns are free and are designed by a variety of people in a variety of styles. Some are many pieces, some traditionally pieced, some are quite simple and some are foundation paper pieced. Something for everyone! If you are interested in joining a hive next year, Alyce usually opens registration in early December or so. I’m now about halfway through my second year and I love it.

I had never been in a quilt bee before and it was quite fun. I really enjoyed making a block or two in someone else’s preferences. Lime green was, to me, strangely popular. I discovered how hard it was to define some colors or styles. I can only hope I was sufficiently clear in what I wanted my month.

With no further ado, blocks!

January

January

Jennifer asked for Civil War era colors in this Spinwheel block, something that I did NOT have in my stash at all. I ended up buying everything but the grey solid just for this block. I was pretty pleased with my points though! In the process of working with them, I came to like the center navy print and the green print quite a lot.

February

February

Colette asked for the Hidden Gems block in the colors of her husband’s favorite sports team. Here we go on the lime green! This block is super fun and I’d like to play with making a quilt of my own with it sometime. Like many of Diane’s patterns, there are lots of different ways to play with it, spaces to highlight or not and the end result could be so many different things. This was the first paper pieced block we did and I have to say that Colette’s quilting prowess was such that I was quite intimidated to send a block to her! I had fun making sure at least one full bird ended up in the navy and picking the angle of the text print.

March

March 1

March 2

Lydia asked for a Double Star Block with chartreuse and magenta. This one was so hard for me to pull fabrics, since I often find both of those colors hard to define and I felt like the color balance between them and the pink needed to be perfect for this block. I am impressed that all of the fabric for these blocks came from stash, once I dug deep enough for the chartreuse/lime-green I think I did a decent job in the end. I had fun picking fabrics that I could get a little bit of fussy cutting in. Lydia is another quilter who I was just a bit intimidated to make blocks for, but with all these pieces, I had to breathe a little bit.

April

April 1

April 2

April 3

Tara, the organizer for our swarm, wanted to finish up the Tic Tac Toe quilt she started with her previous swarm and wanted a Modern Bohemian feel for the x and low volume for the background. This was the first of five months where the queen bee chose this block! It is such a fun, pretty block and I had fun picking several center fabrics for her.

May

May 2

May 1

Susan requested the Wanta Fanta block in scrappy oranges with a scrappy low volume background. Susan assured me that cute fabric was a win! So I went all in in that direction. Orange is…not my favorite color. I like it in smaller quantities. However, it is my wife’s favorite color, so after some rummaging about, I found enough orange for not one but TWO scrappy blocks and while I was at it, cut enough squares for the pumpkin for my Vintage Farmgirl quilt. When I started that quilt the year before, I didn’t have nearly enough orange for a scrappy pumpkin. I confess I had a lot of trouble giving these blocks away and my wife might have threatened to claim them.

June

June

Debbie’s Ripple blocks were perfect for the start of summer! I love how they turned out, though there were many pieces in these blocks and many points to fuss over. I really enjoyed the texture of the yellow print I used for one of the blocks. I love how this block looks as a whole, but wow, the number of pieces and points. Makes it a good bee block right?

 

Leave a Reply

