Beehive Blocks 2016- Part 2

Now, I’d understand if you didn’t make it this far! But I am blogging at least partly to document my quilting adventures for myself, so as long as I’m reading it, a primary goal is met, right? In any case, onward march to July!

July

July

Sara requested the Tic-Tac-Toe Block in grey, red, and white for a dear friend who lost two newborns earlier in the year. I asked her if she would like me to make an embroidered block in reverse to be a dedication for the quilt. I chose the corner fabrics with all their terms of endearment as an appropriate fabric choice. Below the blocks with chicks is the other block I made and the dots are made by a friend who was also in the hive.

August

August (2)

Susan asked for the Checker block in lime green, aqua, black, grey and white. Lime Green strikes again! The checker block is pretty awesome for a bee block because you end up with the HSTs to make two blocks in the process of making one. I love the colors she picked and I’m pretty pleased with how these blocks turned out. I also love my signature blocks for this one and the mermaid tail I snuck into one block.

September

This was my month and I’ve documented that a bit elsewhere. Eventually I’ll finish that top and have a *gasp* quilt finish post!

October

October

Pam asked for bright, bold Xs with a low volume background in, you guessed it, the Tic-Tac-Toe Block. I had fun making the signature block using a block component from the Quilt Block Cookbook. My friend Aviva made hers with teal and I used the leftover HSTs to make this cute panel I haven’t done anything with yet. (surprise, I know) I kinda want to make a whole quilt in that pattern, with larger HSTs of course.

IMG_2180

November

November 2

Stephanie is another ungreedy soul who chose for her month to make a quilt for someone else, a charity quilt of yellow and blue. This is hard for me to imagine as I feel like left to my own devices I work on projects for others, rather than for myself. Thus for a bee I am like, yes! a quilt for me that will be mostly done in a month! Hooray! Can you name the block? šŸ˜‰ I love these colors together and someone in my current bee this year has already chosen these exact colors and block too! I had fun making the signature block, just playing with scraps till I had something I liked.

December

December

Amanda requested, you guessed it, the Tic-Tac-Toe Block with the x in either blue or orange. I was massively in love with this block, as was the aforementioned orange loving wife and I suspect this block will eventually be duplicated as a pillow for our couch. Her quilt in general is going to be a beauty!

January the 2nd

January the Second

Hah! You thought you were done? Someone dropped out of the bee who had already had their month, so Aviva who joined partway had her month in January 2017. You may recognize this block as the spinwheel block we made in January 2016. Cool how that works out. Aviva is a dear friend and I had fun coming up with fabric pulls with her for her quilt.

And that’s that! I’m just under halfway through a second Beehive Swarm and actively plotting for my month in July.

Leave a Reply

